Finally, Lego Lady Scientists

lego female scientist minifigs

When I was younger, we had a big box full of Lego of various colours and from different sets. There was nothing better than sitting down and seeing what you could come up with; a house or a skyscraper, if you could imagine it, you could try and build it. Even now, I still love Lego. I have my Lego VIP card, a collection of custom built figures and I was more than a little excited to go to the theme park.

Now, maybe I was blind to it growing up, but I always thought that Lego was gender natural? How could you say that little blocks were aimed more at one sex than the other? Most kids enjoy building things.

However, a few years ago, the big brains behind the toy decided that girls needed their own specially designed pink, feminine Lego sets. These so called “Lego Friends” enjoyed nothing more than going to the beach and hanging out at the mall, while the boys’ toys were police men, action heroes and discoverers.

I’m not the only one who was annoyed by this, and earlier this year a letter to the company from a seven year old girl went viral. As she pointed out “All the [LEGO] girls did was sit at home, go to the beach, and shop, and they had no jobs.”

But all that’s about to change with the release of the new set The Research Institute featuring female scientists.

All I can say is if there has to be such gendering of children’s toys, I’m glad that they’re starting to show that girls can do anything boys can do.

On a completely different note, if anyone’s willing to buy me the set I’ll be very grateful.  I’d even name the dinosaur after you!

One thought on “Finally, Lego Lady Scientists

Leave a Reply

