The Internship

When I first saw the trailer for The Internship I didn’t think I’d like it – A whole movie advertising how great Google is? I can’t even stand the 5 minute commercial breaks, so 119 minutes? No thanks.  And it’s not like Google really needs to have ads anyway, is it? Who uses any other search engine?

But then, it was on my Sky Movies on Demand and I was bored, so I watched it anyway.

Now, with the internet as my witness, I will admit that I was wrong (Well, half wrong – the film is still a huge Google advert). I enjoyed the film. It was funny and uplifting like good comedy films should be, but there were also parts of it that felt really honest. Let me explain…

The Internship is about two middle aged men, Billy (played by Vince Vaughn) and Nick (Owen Wilson), who lose their jobs and somehow (if you haven’t guessed from the title) get an internship at Google. They have to get into teams and compete to complete different technical challenges, and then the winning team are offered jobs. Pretty standard right? Oh, and of course, our two main characters are out-casts as they’d been working at their previous jobs longer than most other participants had even been alive. Predictably, all the rejects are grouped together and we find ourselves routing for the underdogs. My plot outline stops there so as not to completely ruin the film for you.

The bit that really got me, that felt all too real, was the attitude of the rest of the rejects. They’re all incredibly smart and very tech savvy, but they’re also cynical about their futures and believe that doing their best isn’t enough.  That is most people in my generation. We grew up being told that we could do anything we wanted, be anything we dreamed, but then something changed and we were being told that we had to do better; we had to be the best of the best to get an education, to get degrees in subjects that employers looked for over ones we enjoyed, and once you’ve fought you’re way through to get to the top, you still might not get the job. I might not be as smart as them, but I definitely related to their outlook on life.

Getting back on track, I’m not sure whether it was relating to the characters so much that made me enjoy the film or if it was finding comfort in the predictable story line padded out with new witty lines, but either way I’m a fan. The general concept of the underdogs has been done a hundred times before, but still The Internship makes it onto the list of films I’d definitely watch again.

6/10

Leave a Reply

