The Birthday Post

Today is my birthday.

I’ve spent the past few days celebrating with my friends and family (photos to come). It’s also got me thinking a lot about the future. What am I going to be doing this time next year? At this moment, I don’t really know, but that’s part of the fun, right?

Make a wish!
Make a wish!

Anyway, I’m writing this post because I’m making some birthday resolutions (like new year’s resolutions, but hopefully more successful…) because while generally I’m really happy with my life, there are a few things I want to improve.

The first of which is a very typical resolution – I want to get fit.

I want to be healthier and it’s not as simple as cutting out chocolate or crisps (although cutting down might help), it’s a change of life style. While I was away, I went swimming – something I used to do on a weekly basis – and I really enjoyed myself. It made me realise that getting in shape could be fun. That might sound obvious, but as someone who hated P.E at school, it was a big realisation. There’s no goal weight or crazy dieting, just changing things for the better.

The next resolution might sound odd for someone with an online blog, but I want to spend less time on the computer and get out more.

This is partly to get fitter, but also there’s a whole world waiting to be explored and I’m wasting so much time just scrolling through the internet. I’m not saying that all time spent on the internet is bad, but sometimes I get to the end of the day and realise I haven’t actually done anything productive and I’m done with that feeling. I want to spend more time with my friends and have more adventures.

And finally, I want to get a job.

Some of you are probably reading this going “you’re 20 and you’ve never had a job?” but what can I say, I have very supportive parents. I’ve done a lot of voluntary work, but I want to actually earn my own money. It’ll be a new experience, and even if it’s going to be tough, I’ve got to do it some time. I want to be able to treat my parents instead of relying on them for everything.

So there we have it; one birthday and three big resolutions.

I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone that’s made my life so enjoyable up to this point, and I can’t wait to see what the future has in store.

If you have any tips or suggests on how to actually do any of the above, please let me know, and if you stick around long enough, I’ll be sure to update you on my progress.

2 thoughts on “The Birthday Post

Leave a Reply

