Look into the window of my mind

When I was at school, we had a school song – Proud by Heather Small. It was played during every assembly, we all knew the lyrics and the phrase “what have you done today to make you feel proud?” was everywhere. At the time it was incredibly annoying. We had no choice but to listen to the song on loop and there was always a collective groan when it started over again.

Now though I can almost see why they did it.

We live in a society where we are constantly preparing for our futures, constantly working to get more, more, more.  There’s always something or someone telling us that we’re not good enough or that it could be better. Annoying as it was, I think they were trying to believe in ourselves and our passions, and to make the most of every day.

So here are three things that I’m proud of:

My Blog

It isn’t the best and it doesn’t have the highest number of followers, but I’ve worked hard for it and I always will. It’s become part of who I am. I hope that in the future I can look back at it and see how it helped me to achieve my goals.

My Choices

I’m glad that when everyone else was going off to university that I decided to take my own path. It led to some of the most amazing opportunities and once in a life time experiences. It hasn’t always been easy, but it’s worth it. I wouldn’t change a thing.

My Friends

I’ve seen them at their best and their worst, through the good times and the bad. I’ve watched them go after their dreams and grow, develop and flourish. They’re one of my greatest sources of inspiration and motivation. I can’t wait to see what life has in store for all of us.

What have you done today to make you feel proud?

Leave a Reply

