Travelling Troubles [Blog-mas 5]

20131205_202520

There are two types of commuters, and when you experience a train-apocalypse the differences become much more obvious.

“What the hell is a train-apocalypse?” I hear you cry.

Picture this: it’s still rush hour and when you get to the station, you’re greeted by a frustrated looking crowd of people. Pretty normal
for London commuters, right? Except the reason they’re frustrated is that every train is cancelled or severely delayed, even though you can see all of the trains in front of you. Add a lack of communication and a few screaming children and you have a recipe for Hell.

20131205_204955

That’s exactly what happened on my way home today, and here’s a few things I noticed.

The first of those two types of commuters is the loud-mouth. This is the kind of people that takes all of their frustration out on innocent members of staff who are just trying to do their job. They also tut a lot, and when a train does appear to be active, push their way through all of the other people not stopping even when they cause others to fall. These people suck.

The other type has a much more laid back approach to the situation. Rather than yelling, they are likely to be overheard saying how inconvenient it is, but they know there’s nothing you can do about it. They fold themselves out of the way with a paper and just wait. I am one of these people.

I was stuck at Victoria Station for over half an hour before I was advised to go to a different station. I did; same problem. Admittedly, there were a few less people.

I also got chatting to a lovely man that was trying to get to the same place as me. He’d been on the phone and said that he’d try Victoria – being the good person that I am; I told him how much worse it was there. We ended up getting the same train. Having a conversation with a stranger reminded me not to lose complete faith in commuters.

A woman also gave me her copy of a magazine when she was done with it, and I picked up a book someone left behind.

Sometimes, things don’t go to plan, but you’ve got to make the most out of a bad situation.

2 thoughts on “Travelling Troubles [Blog-mas 5]

Leave a Reply

