Even The Rat Can Cook Better Than Me

I have a confession to make… I love kids’ films. Especially animated ones, and when it comes to animated kids’ films there’s only one place to go – Pixar.

As I snuggled into bed on Wednesday with the sniffles, I was in serious need of a feel good film; and Ratatouille doesn’t disappoint. The film follows the story of Remy as he goes from rags to riches pursuing his dream. He has the skills, knowledge and talent to be a professional chef – if only he wasn’t a rat.

Set in Paris, the incredible visual aesthetics made me feel as if I was actually in France.  Accompanied by an award winning soundtrack, the film had me totally absorbed as the plot twisted and turned before coming to a heart-warming ending (of course).

What I particularly liked was the relationship between Remy and his late idol chef Gusteau. Gusteau shares many inspirational words seemingly not just meant for Remy, but for the audience too – whether they are young and free or wishing they still were.

“You must be imaginative, strong-hearted. You must try things that may not work, and you must not let anyone define your limits because of where you come from. Your only limit is your soul. What I say is true – anyone can cook… but only the fearless can be great.”

 

Leave a Reply

