Growing Up Gets Deep

How do I apply to be a superhero?

When you were little and an adult asked you what you wanted to be when you were their age, what did you say? Fireman? Ballerina? Teacher? Whatever you said, they probably then said something along the lines of “you can be whatever you want to be”, right? The list of possibilities of what you could do went on and on for miles.

So, when did things change?

Which morning was it when everyone else got together and decided that you had to sort out your entire career right now?

At 17, I could barely plan out what I was doing over the next few weeks. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I still don’t – not definitely anyway. Everyone else my age seemed to have this great plan about what to study and where to go; I was too petrified to admit that I didn’t have a clue.

Luckily, I decided against going to uni just because everyone else was. Well, I say luckily, maybe I would have loved it. Who knows? It just didn’t feel right, and I’ve learnt to go with a gut instinct.

So, I took a year out to get my head together. During this time, I had some of the best experiences of my life, and they’ve shaped who I am today. At the moment, I’m back sitting surrounded by prospectuses and comparing courses. This time I’m more confident in both myself and my choices. This time its because I want to study, and not because I don’t know what else to do. Although, I still don’t have one of these master plans, I now have a better idea of the field of work that I want to go into.

The point I’m trying to make is that you shouldn’t feel pressured into making big decisions. If you’ve got a master plan, then great, but there’s nothing wrong with exploring your options. Taking risks can pay off, and either way you learn a lesson.

This is your life, your only life; don’t let someone else tell you how to live it.

Leave a Reply

