“Fear defeats more people than any other one thing in the world.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

SAM_4186

Even just the thought of standing in front of a crowd and giving a speech makes me nervous. I never used to put my hand up in class, even if I knew the answer. I’d have panic attacks during presentations.

Now that I’ve told you that, I have a surprise for you.

Over the past few months, not only have I given a presentation in class, but I also spoke at a conference in front of a room full of people – in a onesie.

I’m still kind of in shock about the last one.

When people ask me why I did it, I can’t help be smile a little.

“Weren’t you scared?” they ask.

Yes.

Very much so. I felt sick through all of the presentations before mine, and my hands shook the entire time, but I did it. I did it to face my fear. I did it so that I don’t have to spend the rest of my life worrying about it. I did it to prove to myself that I could.

Now, I’m definitely not going to have a career in public speaking, but if at some point in the future I have to, I know that I’ll survive. It will only be a short period of time and then it will all be over. Whatever happens, I’ll get through it.

Everyone’s afraid of something, and I’m challenging you to face up to your fear. I did it, and so can you!

Leave a Reply

