To the Heart, From the Heart

P1110718

Heart,

I know they say that “the heart wants what the heart wants”, but I’m here to tell you that you are wrong. I’m sure you only want someone when you know that there’s no chance it could ever happen. Have you learnt nothing over the past few years?

The first time was understandable; you were young and he showed an interest. Everyone makes mistakes, eventually you got over him.

But I’ll never understand guy number two. He had us both fooled. He lied, manipulated, and hurt us more than I ever thought possible. He broke you, and for a while he broke me too. It took a long time to put you back together, and the scars are still there, but we survived and we’re better off without him.

Current crush is lovely, but it’s not going to happen. Some things are just not meant to be, and this is one of them. He’s still a close friend, and I’m hoping that someday that love will be enough for you.

You’ve been through a lot over the past 19 years, and I’m grateful that you keep beating. I hope that as we grow older, you’ll be more patient when it comes to falling in love so you don’t hit the floor quite so hard. I’m glad that you care so much about others, but you need to remember to care about yourself too.

We’re in this together, you and I, so here’s to all the heart racing, breathtaking moments to come.

sam_2715.jpg

Leave a Reply

