When Brain Fog Attacks

Empty_Words_I_by_lady_symphonia_stock

Lately it feels as if my brain has evaporated and left my head filled with this thick cloud of confusion. I’ll be reading a sentence and it’ll be lost on its way into my mind and I’ll have to start again. No, I’m not going mad (no more than usual anyway), I have a serious case of brain fog.

“What is brain fog?!” I hear you cry.

According to Wikipedia it is:

Clouding of consciousness, also known as brain fog or mental fog, is a term used in conventional medicine denoting an abnormality in the “regulation” of the “overall level” of consciousness that is mild and less severe than a delirium. The sufferer experiences a subjective sensation of mental clouding described as feeling “foggy”

Because that was so much help, right?

I’d say that it’s what happens when you get out of bed and leave your brain behind. You become a little zombie-fied; slow moving, easily confused, the sudden urge to eat human flesh… okay, so I’m making the last one up, but you get the picture. No matter how hard I try, things don’t seem to get done. I lack the concentration and the will power to actually do something productive.

I just can't be bothered to move
I just can’t be bothered to move

“What about this post then? Isn’t that productive?”

Now, it might only take you a few minutes to read this, but it takes me about a half hour to write, twenty minutes to type and around three days to actually publish. And all of that is on a good day.

Considering it takes all of that effort, what is the actual point I’m trying to get across? Well I wanted to find out if there are any fellow foggies out there, and let you know that you’re not alone. I also wanted to tell you non-suffers to go easy on us.

Everyone has bad days. It’s a fact. No exceptions.

So if today is one of those days where nothing goes right, maybe it’s time to give in. Not forever, just until the fog lifts. Give yourself a break and put your feet up. Stare blankly at the tv for a while. Have a bubble bath. Scroll aimlessly through tumblr. Whatever you do, get plenty of rest, and if you don’t feel better in a few days see a doctor. It’s probably nothing serious, but it’s better to know either way.

Until next time, take it easy and don’t forget to subscribe to my blog!

One thought on “When Brain Fog Attacks

Leave a Reply

