We are (like) Family

We are Family

To someone who is like a sister,

I want to start by apologising. We don’t talk as much as we used to, and we definitely don’t see each other enough, but I want you to know that I still consider you like family. No matter where you go or what you do, you’ll always be like my big sister.

You took me under your wing when we met almost eight years ago, and it feels like I never really left. You’re still teaching me things and giving me the advice I need – no matter how painful it might be to hear.

This letter is really to say thank you. I appreciate everything you’ve done for me, even if I don’t always show it. It’s also to say that I’m sorry for all the stuff I’ve put you through. I could try and hide behind excuses about being young, but the truth is I was just selfish. I’ve learnt my lesson now; thank you for putting up with me while I was learning.

I haven’t quite figured out if I believe in faith, or fate, or the power of the universe, but whatever it was I’m so glad that it brought you into my life. Things have changed a lot since then but you’ve still got a heart of gold. You’ve changed my life more than you could ever know, and I hope someday I can repay you. Until then, I want you to know that I love you and you mean a lot to me.

5 thoughts on “We are (like) Family

Leave a Reply

