Advice for the Teenagers of the World

candles

Last month, I turned 20. I’ve been considered an adult for two years, but I expected it to feel more official now that I’m not a teenager. It doesn’t by the way – I’m still figuring out how to adult and I probably always will be. Anyone that says they’ve got it all sussed is lying.

Anyway, I’ve had time to reflect on my teenage years. I remember how grown up I felt turning 13, and how soon after that I wished I could be a kid again. There were loads of great experiences like finishing high school and finally being old enough to drink (legally), and there were quite a few terrible ones too.  Each experience has helped to shape who I am and now that I’ve lived through it I’m going to do my best to give some advice to you youngsters out there (I’m aware of how old that makes me sound).

Take lots of photos.  With smartphones and Instagram it’s not like you’re running low on images, but it’s important to have a record of all the great things you did not just what you had for lunch. Once you’ve taken them, back them up and print them so that you don’t lose them. One day you’ll be smiling as you look back at all the captured moments.

<3

Exams are important, but they’re not everything. You’re mum probably tells you it a lot, but you can only do your best, so there’s no point stressing if you don’t get all A’s. There’s a lot to be learnt outside of school, and experience goes a long way. Do try, but remember it’s not the end of the world.

Remember that everything is temporary.  That goes for bad times as well as good ones. Day might be amazing so enjoy it while you can, and if it’s not maybe tomorrow will be better. The bad times help us appreciate the good ones; you’ve just got to make the most of it.

 


Leave a comment